By James Crook

133568972June 6 - The draw for the 2013 International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Asia Championship has been made today in host city Manila, with the main talking point being a clash of the titans in Group C of the continent's premier national basketball tournament.

China, Iran and South Korea - the only three teams to win the tournament since 1987 - are all drawn into Group C for what should prove to be an entertaining round of fixtures and a stern test for holders China, who have won the title on 15 occasions.

Another team from South-East Asia that are yet to qualify will join the group.

Elsewhere, host nation the Philippines chose to take their place in Group A alongside 2011 runners-up Jordan, Chinese Taipei and Saudi Arabia in what appears to be a favourable draw for the team that has not lifted the trophy since 1985.

89824129There will be a repeat of the 2011 final as China face Iran in Group C

The Philippines chose to avoid Group B, which features Japan, Qatar and Lebanon, who are joined by Hong Kong.

In the final group, Bahrain, India and Kazakhstan will be joined by another South-East Asian qualifier that is yet to be determined.

The top three teams go through to the next round where they face the top three sides from another group, with the top four sides from each group moving forward to the quarter-finals.

The team's that finish in the medal positions will secure their place at the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup in Spain.

The tournament is due to run from August 1 to August 11 this year in Manila.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

elated stories
January 2013: 
FIBA Asia Basketball Championship moved to Philippines amid Beirut safety fears