By Mike Rowbottom

Resized UIPM_logo_Oct_21October 21 – Dr h c Klaus Schormann of Germany pledged his determination to keep modern pentathlon in the Olympic Movement after he was re-elected unopposed for a sixth consecutive term as President of the International Modern Pentathlon Union (UIPM).

Speaking after the first day of the 64th UIPM Congress in Buenos Aires on October 20, Schormann said: "As UIPM President for the sixth time and the unanimous way I was elected has touched me.

"This also shows and underlines that all the members of the union completely support me as President, and my vision for the future and the changes under my guidance that have been made over the past years.

"I promise to the federations, that just as I have done the past years, I will give all my energy, together with my colleagues from the Executive Board to serve the athletes to make our sport strong and attractive to stay for ever in the Olympic Movement."

Joël Bouzou of France was elected as Vice President after stepping down as the UIPM secretary general, a position he has held for the past 15 years.

Half of the UIPM Executive Board was elected for another four years, with remaining elections to be held today (October 21).

Dr h.c._Klaus_Schormann__Jol_Bouzou_Oct_21Dr h c Klaus Schormann (left) was re-elected as President for the sixth time and Joël Bouzou elected as Vice President at the 64th UIPM Congress

The other four Vice Presidents elected were: IOC (International Olympic Committee) Executive Board member Juan Antonio Samaranch of Spain; Asian Modern Pentathlon Confederation secretary general Kuisung Choi from South Korea; ACODEPA (Pan American Sports Confederations Association) President Ivar Sisniega of Mexico; and Russian Modern Pentathlon President Viacheslav Aminov.

The 1976 Olympic Champion Janusz Peciak of Poland secured the majority vote to become the UIPM sports director.

The Technical Committee that Peciak will chair include: Brazil's Marcelo Goncalez; Walid Sayed of Egypt; Spain's Endre Kovats; Corine Bouzou from France; Bernhard Petrushinski of Germany; Italian Carlo Passiatore; Dongkook Chung from South Korea; José Santos of Portugal; Russia's Dmitry Menshikov; and Vladimir Miller of Slovakia.

Austria's Alexander Peirits and Brazilian Helio Mereilles retained their positions of honorary auditors, which they have had for the past four years.

The Medical Committee will be consist of: Natalia Ofitserova from Belarus; Marco Michelucci of Brazil; Atanas Andreev from Bulgaria; and Italian Fabio Pigozzi.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]