By Tom Degun

Katie TaylorOctober 16 - Ireland's lightweight boxing star Katie Taylor and Ukrainian heavyweight Oleksandr Usyk have claimed the top female and male prizes respectively at the 2012 International Boxing Association (AIBA) Annual Awards Ceremony after both stormed to Olympic gold medals at London 2012.

Taylor  (pictured top) unsurprisingly claims the Best Elite Women's Boxer of the Year trophy after the 26-year-old from County Wicklow secured victory at London 2012 in the 60kg category where the women's edition of the sport was making its Olympic debut.

After an impressive run to the final, the quadruple world champion defeated Russia's Sofya Ochigava in the final bout by 10-8 to create a piece of history by becoming the first female lightweight Olympic champion in history.

Usyk takes the Best Elite Men's Boxer of the Year after the charismatic 25-year-old added the London 2012 Olympic gold medal to the World Championship crown he took in Baku last year.

The Ukrainian beat Italy's Clemente Russo in the final and proved one of the most popular fighters at London 2012 due to the "Hopak" dance celebration that followed his wins.

Oleksandr UsykAIBA 2012 Best Elite Men's Boxer of the Year winner Oleksandr Usyk delighted crowds with the Hopak dance he performed on his way to the London 2012 heavyweight Olympic gold medal

Elsewhere, Ireland's Michael Gallagher secured the Best Referee and Judge of the Year prize for the second year running, while Britain's David Halloway took the Best Coach of the Year award after taking his boxers take an unprecedented three golds, one silver and a bronze medal at London 2012, meaning they topped the Olympic boxing medal table.

Italy's Franco Falcinelli was named Best Technical Official of the Year.

There were also a series of awards for AIBA's World Series of Boxing (WSB) competition with Ukraine's Sergiy Derevyanchenko named Best WSB Boxer of the Year after the middleweight helped his team Dolce & Gabbana Milano Thunder to victory before claiming a second successive title in the Individual Championships to extend his unbeaten record in the event to 13-0.

France's Jean-Robert Laine was named Best WSB Referee and Judge of the Year, while Italy's Francesco Damiani claimed the Best WSB Coach of the Year prize after the 1984 Olympic silver medallist took Milano Thunder to victory in the 2012 WSB Team Final.

Brazil's Luiz Boselli was named Best WSB Supervisor of the Year.

Meanwhile, the final prize for Best Sportsmanship of the Year was awarded posthumously to Turkey's Garip Ercuyumcu who died earlier this year.

The awards were allocated by a selection committee chaired by AIBA President C K Wu and formed of all AIBA Commission chairpersons.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]